Summer Holidays 2013 – 9

Standard

Day Eleven
North Yorkshire Railway. Whitby-Goathland

We nearly didn’t go anywhere today but I decided that we just simply couldn’t go home without a trip on the North Yorkshire Railway stream train.
And what a day we had!

Waiting on the platform both children were so excited!!

20130716-224530.jpg
I couldn’t help myself, I just had to hang out the windows, as I remember doing so well as a child.
Yes, I am That old!!
Hubs was happy to sit in the seats with the children so he didn’t have to see me.

20130716-224543.jpg

Goathland was so exciting for hubs because he recognised so much from Heartbeat. I have to admit, I didn’t really recognise anything.
It is also where the train arrives into in Harry Potter, but again, I can’t say that I recognised anything.
But that didn’t stop it from all being very beautiful!

20130716-224600.jpg
Back home to Staithes afterwards and the children and I went on a little ramble up the hill.
We discovered where the smell had been coming from.
Every now and again there was the Worst smell that would hit us.
We assumed it was the sea, or seaweed being hit by the sun.
But,no, it turned out it was a farm at the top of the hill.
As the children and I walked it got worse and worse. To the point that we had to retreat back down the hill to escape it!

20130716-224730.jpg
We managed to relax in the garden all the same and had our one and only barbecue, prepared by daddy.

We had such a great day and we went to be looking forward to a lovely relaxing day in the village tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

