Summer Holidays 2013 – 10

Standard

Day Twelve
Last Day in Staithes

We decided that we would spend our last day relaxing around the house and down at the harbour.
We spent a good amount of our time packing up, getting washing done etc
But finally we were organised to go for a walk around the cliffs above the village.

20130721-223242.jpg
When we were packing up I played music through my phone and completely forgot to charge it as I did, silly silly me. Because it meant that it had run of charge and I could only take a few pictures!
This was the only one I got on the cliffs, though B has lots on her camera. Hopefully I will get them downloaded soon so I can put them up here.

When we made it to the beach, the water was out!
No matter, still plenty sand for sandcastles!

20130721-223016.jpg
We brought some left over food from our barbecue for our lunch.

20130721-221959.jpg
J was more than happy to knaw on some beef!!
We had our last meal at the Cod and Lobster, always good!
We said our goodbyes to the wonderful Morris, from the gift shop.
Even if we never did find Old Jack or any of his friends, we had Morris! A lovely lovely man who was always so sweet and ready for a chat. The children adored him!

Time came soon enough to go back to the cottage for our very last sleep 😦
Here are a few shots of the inside of a wonderful retreat.

20130721-222105.jpg

20130721-222111.jpg

20130721-222119.jpg

20130721-222206.jpg

20130721-222709.jpg

What a great, wonderful, fantastic holiday!
We were so lucky with our weather and with our timing, it was never too busy and we were able to get ourselves around the village with relative ease.
Oh but watch this video and listen to my breathing! I loved Staithes, but I did not entirely enjoy driving through the village. Well, I guess I t was thrilling but, eek, there is No Way I could have been the driver!

Scary!

Oh but it was great!
Thank you CBeebies for Old Jacks Boat, without which I would ever have discovered this great little village that was full of such views and friendly faces, topped off with a great little enclosed beach.

Leave a Reply

